Today is a run day. More importantly, a treadmill run day. I got ready and left for the gym, picked up a prescription for Zoey (damn sinus infections), and headed to the gym. Walking up to the door. I don't want to do this. Ugh. Took my time in the bathroom. Ok, get on my favorite treadmill (ha ha, favorite). I don't want to do this. Start my warm up. Ugh, don't want to do this. Start a light jog, hit stop. I don't want to do this. GET YOUR ASS ON THAT TREADMILL AND RUN! Wait who said that? Get back on and start at 5.5 (10:54 mile). Ok. I can do this. I need to run two straight miles. At mile one instead of slowing down, I speed up. Gradually getting to 6.0. You are doing this. Mile 2, slow down for .1 mile to get a drink and recover. Ok, 2.1 miles. Lets see how far I can go. Ugh, those annoying ass kids running around the treadmills are really bothering me. Where are their parents? Mile 2.5. I can slow down now. NO! Keep going. Mile 3.1, slow down to get a drink. Ok. Goal was 4 miles. I have walked for .2. Come on, get to 4.2. Speed it up. 3.7 miles, increase pace at each .1 of a mile. Mile 4.2. Done! I did it! Planning my 9 mile run for Sunday!
Next Sunday I have a 5k and I am hoping for a PR. I ran a 28:35 on Tuesday at home, so I should be able to do it!
In June 2011 I decided to partake in a journey that would change my life in ways that I could not imagine.
Running.
Heavier than I had ever been, I decided to stop playing games with myself, with my life. If I continued on the path I was on, I would be unhappy for the rest of my life. I have two beautiful little girls that deserve to have their mother around for many many many years. I want to make them proud. I want to teach them to be healthy, active, happy. I signed up for my first ever 5k, Oct 15, 2011. I downloaded the C25k app on my phone, and after summer vacation, I hit the road. At 208 lbs.
Running.
Heavier than I had ever been, I decided to stop playing games with myself, with my life. If I continued on the path I was on, I would be unhappy for the rest of my life. I have two beautiful little girls that deserve to have their mother around for many many many years. I want to make them proud. I want to teach them to be healthy, active, happy. I signed up for my first ever 5k, Oct 15, 2011. I downloaded the C25k app on my phone, and after summer vacation, I hit the road. At 208 lbs.
Fast forward to August 2014. Heavier than I even was before, and stopped running. Time to stop making excuses and get serious!
Thursday, January 26, 2012
Sunday, January 22, 2012
New milestones, new understandings, new plans!
First, today I hit another milestone. I ran 8 miles this morning. After runs on the treadmill Tues & Thurs I was itching to get outside. Even though it was only 28 degrees out I made arrangements for my mom to watch the girls and hit the road. We also had a snow/ice storm that made the roads a little more difficult to navigate, but I was determined. Since I was at my mom's it was new territory, and I enjoyed the change of scenery. The first mile is always my toughest. I guess because my body is warming up. After mile 2-3 I was feeling great. I also ran a loop around my college which has a killer hill. I had to walk for a few seconds, but I started running again and was very happy with my end time. I also started using GU Chomps, and I think they help.
New understandings. I have previously told people that I hate the treadmill. With a passion. I hated it because I seemed so slow. And when I tried to push up the speed I would feel like I am dying. Well this week I did my weekday runs on the treadmill. Mainly because it was so cold out and I was feeling a little under the weather already. Well during the runs it suddenly came to me why exactly I hate the treadmill. I causes me to be consistent. When I am runing outside my pace is not constant. It's something that I am working on, but it's much easier to slow down without knowing it when I am outside. But on the treadmill I have to manually push a button to make myself go slower.
So that gets me to new plans. While the weather is cold I am going to be running on the treadmill during the week, focusing on my pace & consistency. I believe with this work I will be able to run longer distances and keep a steady pace.
Another new plan that I am very excited about, I registered for the Iron Girl Half Marathon on April 29! This is part of a special program, when I complete this one and the half marathon at FRF, on May 6th. I am awarded the special "titanium girl" medal! Pretty excited about that!
New understandings. I have previously told people that I hate the treadmill. With a passion. I hated it because I seemed so slow. And when I tried to push up the speed I would feel like I am dying. Well this week I did my weekday runs on the treadmill. Mainly because it was so cold out and I was feeling a little under the weather already. Well during the runs it suddenly came to me why exactly I hate the treadmill. I causes me to be consistent. When I am runing outside my pace is not constant. It's something that I am working on, but it's much easier to slow down without knowing it when I am outside. But on the treadmill I have to manually push a button to make myself go slower.
So that gets me to new plans. While the weather is cold I am going to be running on the treadmill during the week, focusing on my pace & consistency. I believe with this work I will be able to run longer distances and keep a steady pace.
Another new plan that I am very excited about, I registered for the Iron Girl Half Marathon on April 29! This is part of a special program, when I complete this one and the half marathon at FRF, on May 6th. I am awarded the special "titanium girl" medal! Pretty excited about that!
Sunday, January 15, 2012
Knowing your limitations!
Today I had a 5 mile run scheduled, but I just wasn't feeling it. First, it was 27 degrees out and I was already fighting a sore throat. Plus, my hips have been sore. So I decided to hit the gym and jump on the eliptical runner. I did 5 miles, then did a quick** mile (9:23) on the treadmill. Tomorrow I hope to do Yoga, and maybe that will open up my hips some!
Sunday, January 8, 2012
Weekend long run!
As you know, I didn't make any new years resolutions. I set goals. May 6th is the FRF, I am signed up for the half marathong. I am actually contemplating completing a challenge called the titanium girl, two half marathons within a week......
Anyways, today I did my longest run ever, 7 miles. And I felt awesome during it. My tuesday and Thursday runs are around my loop, for safety reasons, so they are very flat. Almost no elevation gain. So today I not only set out to complete my longest run, but to make sure I did hills. And boy did I!!!! Elevation gain was over 400 ft. And I didn't walk a single second!!! And, I felt AWESOME. I added 2 GU chomps to my run, which I am not sure if they "worked" but I did notice less of the "I'm dying" feeling.
Next weekend is a step back weekend, and it will also be in DE, so it will be pretty flat.
Now to contemplate the titanium girl......
Anyways, today I did my longest run ever, 7 miles. And I felt awesome during it. My tuesday and Thursday runs are around my loop, for safety reasons, so they are very flat. Almost no elevation gain. So today I not only set out to complete my longest run, but to make sure I did hills. And boy did I!!!! Elevation gain was over 400 ft. And I didn't walk a single second!!! And, I felt AWESOME. I added 2 GU chomps to my run, which I am not sure if they "worked" but I did notice less of the "I'm dying" feeling.
Next weekend is a step back weekend, and it will also be in DE, so it will be pretty flat.
Now to contemplate the titanium girl......
Tuesday, January 3, 2012
23 degrees and I did what?
Ran 3.5 miles! And it felt awesome. Besides the wind when I came up on the turn in circle!
Sunday, January 1, 2012
Note to self. Charge your Garmin.
Ugh, so I have been taking a break this holiday season, so my last run was a week ago. Well I am getting ready to go for my first run of the year and my garmin is drained. Whoops. Hopefully it doesnt take too long to charge!!!!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)