In June 2011 I decided to partake in a journey that would change my life in ways that I could not imagine.

Running.

Heavier than I had ever been, I decided to stop playing games with myself, with my life. If I continued on the path I was on, I would be unhappy for the rest of my life. I have two beautiful little girls that deserve to have their mother around for many many many years. I want to make them proud. I want to teach them to be healthy, active, happy. I signed up for my first ever 5k, Oct 15, 2011. I downloaded the C25k app on my phone, and after summer vacation, I hit the road. At 208 lbs.

Fast forward to August 2014. Heavier than I even was before, and stopped running. Time to stop making excuses and get serious!

Saturday, June 16, 2012

PR's slipping away....

So today I ran the Baltimore 10 miler.  Before I get to the true point of this post, I want to first do a quick race review.  I love Corrigan Sport Events, and this remains the same today.  Even though it was a rough night with Madalynn being sick, I was up at 6 am ready to go.  I left my house around 6:30 and when driving up 83 quickly realized that the exits they said to take were not going to work.  I got off at Falls Road and wound up coming in the back way to the zoo, which allowed me to park on the zoo grounds and take the shuttle to the start line. The previous day I picked up my bib at the zoo, so I had scoped out the porta potties.  When I got there the lines were long, but if you kept walking to the end, there were several lines that only had 4-5 people in it.  Made my way to the start like and found the 1:40 pacers.  They announced that there would be a 10 minute delay due to traffic problems.  (good thing I know my way around the city!)  The first 5 miles I stayed with the pace group, but they started to pull ahead and I couldn't keep up.  I could insert alot of excuses, but I will get to that in a minute.  The course was great, there were hills but nothing too brutal.  The volunteers were wonderful and the cold washcloth and watermelon at the end were perfect.  I picked up my premium and headed to the merchandise tent.  Got a t-shirt and a sticker and they offered to throw in a free vest (I think from last year) if I donated $1.  Uh, yeah.  Good thing was it didn't even have a year on it, which made it even more worth it!  Made my way to the finish line for my picture and then found the shuttle and got to my car.  All in all a very great race!  When I got home though I opened my premium, and there is no logo on it!  I wasn't the only one and CSE has already released a statement stating that they will resolve the problem, and I have full faith in that.

So.  Here is the point of this post.  My time today was 1:43:53.  A pretty respectable time, but not even close to my PR in April of 1:39:44.  Why?  I know why.  My diet.  My lack of serious training.  But mainly, my diet.  In April I was a good 5-7lbs lighter.  Which you don't think makes a big difference, but yes, it does.  I cannot keep doing the same thing I am doing and expect just to magically be faster.  I need to focus on eating healthy and fuleing my body with the right foods.

So Mary, I have a few questions for you......

How much do you want this?  Are you willing to let yourself have the reward?  Are you willing to commit fully???  You need to.  You are going to.  You have to.

Baltimore Marathon - October 13, 2012. 

I WILL FINISH THIS MARATHON.

I WILL BE IN THE BEST SHAPE OF MY LIFE.

I WILL BE A GOOD ROLE MODEL FOR MY CHILDREN.

I WILL.

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

2 Days post FRF/Titanium girl....

Sorry for the delay in posting, but life has been pretty hectic.

So as you know I completed the Iron Girl Half on 4/29/12 with a time of 2:10:10.  I decided I was going to take it easy during the week and rested Mon & Tues.  Did Yoga on Wed, ran less than 30 min on Thursday, rest Friday and Yoga on Saturday. 

For the Frederick Running Festival, I had recruited my friend from work, Renee to run with me.  Renee has been a runner for years, but never did much outside training.  She did almost all her training on a treadmill with a few outside runs with me, but never past 5 miles.  Renee was much more nervous than I was.  We left for Frederick on Saturday around 3pm.  I was not counting on getting any titanium girl merchandise since we were so late.  We arrived and got our bibs, our jackets and checked out the pace group table.  I wanted to run with a pace group again, and we signed up for the 2:10 group.  Upon reaching the merchandise table I realized they actually still had some Titanium girl shirts, and was happy to score one.  I also bought my second 13.1 car magnet!  Yay!  I bought a thing of glide, because I thought I forgot mine (found mine after the race on Sunday in my makeup bag) and checked out a few tables.  Checked in with the iron girl table to obtain my bracelet so that picking up my medal would be easy.  After leaving the expo we went to find our hotel.  Settled in and began to look at the course map.  I then realized that our hotel was smack dab at mile 1.5.  Look out our window and sure enough see the porta potties that will be at the water station.  I begin to get nervous because of road closures and tell Renee we are leaving at 6:00 on the dot.  We venture out to Wal-Mart to get myself some gatorade and yarn to fix my iPhone holder (damn that scratchy velcro stuff) and Renee got everything in the store, including a door mat ;-).  Across the street was a Ruby Tuesday's and we decide to eat there.  Renee is a vegetarian, so she was happy to see the salad bar.  I kept it light by having Tilapia, broccoli and mash potatoes.  So yummy.  We head back to the hotel at 8, and by 9 I am falling asleep. 

Race Day!  My alarm goes off at 5:30 and unlike most times I jump right up (something about race day makes me do this).  Have my normal protein drink and get ready.  We leave at 6:05 and luckily none of the roads have closed yet.  We are able to score a spot on the fairgrounds and find a somewhat short line for the bathroom.  By 6:40 we are at the start line and find the pace group guys.  Immediatley something about one of them rubbed me the wrong way, but I figure what the hell, go with it.  I quickly realized that I did not have as much energy as I did for Iron Girl, but attempted to stay with the group (and Renee).  I began walking water stops, and up until about mile 7, Renee was with me.  I fell behind and signaled for her to just keep going.  We had talked before that we are there to run our race, and if one feels better than the other, to go ahead.  No hard feelings!  And we were going to meet at the beer table.  Looking at my split times, mile 8-12 are my hardest.  For FRF I was over 11:00 for all of them.  This is something I need to focus on.  I need to slow down in the beginning and let my body warm up.  This is a new goal of mine.  This time I actually saw the photographers and attempted to raise my arms and smile at a few.  Hopefully they turn out better!  In the end my time was 2:18:35, in my opinion, a very respectable time for having just done a half the weekend before.  http://connect.garmin.com/splits/175396524

Two days later I am feeling pretty good.  My hips are sore, but I am taking it easy.  Marathon training will kick up soon and I need to make sure my body is ready! 



Iron girl!


Although I didn't smile in many of the pictures that were taken, I am very happy with this one!!!!

Sunday, April 29, 2012

I am an Iron Girl!

I officially have 13.1 in the books!  Let me start by saying it was a great race, and I am very proud of my time (2:10:10)!  I was able to convince my husband and mom to come to the race and the girls were there for the first time!  That was a great feeling.  When I came around the corner I could see them and they all started waving!  Madalynn Grabbed my hand and ran with me a little bit, and then I sprinted to to finish line!  It truly was an awesome experience.  There was a KILLER hill in mile 6 that I had to walk a little, but I made it.  Now for my critiques (better word than complaint, right?)

Security bracelet - It was put on my arm on Friday at the expo, and no one even checked it on race day.  Perhaps had I not been wearing one I would have been stopped at some point, but I seriously doubt it.  In my opinion, it was an unnecessary step.

Course short - Now this might be my Garmin's fault, but I noticed around mile 8, the marker was much sooner than when mine and other watches were beeping.  And I am not talking about .01 miles, I am talking about .2 miles!  According to my Garmin I only ran 12.89 miles.  Strange. 

Pace groups - it was previously advertised that they would have 7,9,11 and 13 min pace groups.  As a 10 min/mile runner I was disappointed that there was no 10.  At the last minute they added a 10 min mile pace group, complete with a homemade sign, but he was clearly unprepared to pace us for 10 min miles.  I managed to stay with him for 6 miles, but his splits were 9:43, 9:39, 9:26, 9:45, 9:33, 9:22.  Of course its nice to picture yourself going fast, but in my case when I lose energy on the first half of the course, I drag on the second half of the course. After I left him my splits were 10:30, 10:08, 10:51, 11:07, 11:07, 10:20.  I understand that he was there last minute, but still.

Porta Potties - normally I don't complain about them because I expect long lines, but they seriously should have had more.  They had maybe 20 total, for 2k + runners?  And not to mention the hand washing stations both ran out of water, and I didn't realize this until after I put soap on my hands!  Woops!  And there were only a few on the course, at mile 6.5.  Not that I would have stopped, but I heard other people complaining!

Kids stuff - Considering this is an all women's event, you should have prepared for alot of moms to be running, with kids that would like to have stuff to do.  I've seen some races have a section for kiddies, which always helps when trying to entertain them.

Now some of the good stuff!

The medal & bracelet were AWESOME!  So unique!!!!

After course food provided by wegmans was great & plentiful!!!

Free Muscle Milk - Awesomeness!

Free goodies for kids @ the Mix 106.5 tent - two thumbs up!

Parking & location were super easy.  I got there no problem, and my husband as mother came later to see me finish and had no issues - super bonus!

Positive and uplifting atmosphere - awesome!

I am writing this blog as both the girls are sleeping.  I would be sleeping too but I am still so pumped up from this morning, it's impossible!  I'm sure tonight I will be out like a light!

Stay tuned - next weekend I run my second half marathon in Frederick, completing the Titanium Girl Challenge!!!

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Getting close!!!

It's getting really close to the Titanium Girl Challenge! The first part is the Iron Girl Half Marathon on April 29, and then followed by the Frederick Running Festival on May 6. My friend Renee is running the FRF with me, but the Iron girl I will be flying solo. Really hoping they have pace groups! I found that the pace group at Cherry Blossom really helped me.

With the challenge on the horizon, I am starting to plan my race schedule & training leading up to the big day. 26.2!

A couple of people recently asked me what training method I follow. Mine. Lol. I read alot on the internet, different theories, different schedules, etc and then make my own. Most importantly I listen to my body. I am not going to run just because the schedule says so if I am hurt. Because then I will be hurt even more. And I cross train. I do classes at the gym, mostly cycle and yoga right now, but sometimes I do things like the eliptical. When I devise my summer months training I will share them here. I tweak it often, and realize it's a plan, and sometimes the plan just doesn't happen!

Last weekend I did 14! It had a few roucgh miles, but a few awesome miles. All in all it was a good run!!!!!

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Cherry Blossom Ten Miler!



Today was the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler, and despite most the cherry blossoms being gone due to the crazy weather we have had, it was an awesome race.
On Saturday we picked up my race packet. My girls came with me, and my brother and sister. We parked at the greenbelt metro station and took the metro in. This was the girls first ride on a "train" and they loved it. After we picked up the packet and made a lap around the expo, we headed to Dupont circle to have lunch at my sister's work, Flippin Pizza! LOVE their pizza, and it was a good carb load! Headed home and attempted to rest my legs the rest of the night.
Race Day: I live in Baltimore and figured it would take me 30-35 minutes to drive to the metro, and then I allotted for 30-40 minutes on the metro, figuring their would be delays. My alarm went of at 5:30 and I was out of the door by 6:00 AM. I didn't want to spend too much time waiting for the race to start, because it was on 40 something degrees. I debated on what to wear and which layer to place my bib on, and later wished I had done it the other way, but oh well. I got to New Carrollton station around 6:40 and boarded the train. I arrived at the Smithsonian exit at 7:10. Some people on the Metro were worried about getting to bag check, which closed at 7:15, but I had planned ahead and did not need to check a bag. My water bottle ouch fit my key, license, money and some GU chomps. I did attempt to go to the bathroom but MAN the lines were long, and I wanted to make sure I found my pace group! I found him and introduced myself. The Corrals were very crowded and I was a bit concerned when we began to get closer to the start time that I would lose him. As we walked towards the start, I realized my watch had gone into some menu I wasn't familiar with. I attempted to fix it as we were starting. I was frustrated and pissed that it wasn't working! I couldn't remember how to fix it, and it kept telling me the GPS was off. (When I got home I realized it was a very easy fix, but I was just flustered and couldn't figure it out). The pace guy, Jeff, had on two watches which were working fine so I gave up so I could enjoy the race! Running through DC was awesome. It was a very flat course and we started on the grounds of the National Monument, passed the Jefforson memorial, ran over a bridge (lol can't remember which one) and saw other various sites. I was feeling good running with Jeff and other people in the pace group, and he was hitting the splits right on target. One of my favorite moments was at mile 5 someone said we are half way there. A kid (lol, probably 19 year old boy) sang "Woah were half way there" and we sang back "Woah, living on a prayer." Along the way we did see a few cherry blossoms still in bloom, it was kind of like a game to find them. I started to doubt myself around mile 7, wondering if I could still keep up the pace, and that's when Jeff told me I was doing great. Gotta love that positive motivation. At mile 9 Jeff was encouraging people to go ahead if they felt good. I waited til about 9.5 miles and pulled ahead a little. My official time was 1:39:44. Jeff's was 1:40:05. A mear 5 seconds above the goal! Pretty damn good, and he was my lifesaver since I screwed up my Garmin. Food & Water distribution was very organized, and I was able to get my medal (first medal!!!!) fairly easily. A stop at the porta potties, a walk around the grounds and I headed to the metro. I stopped for a soft pretzel on the way which was so yummy! The metro back was very slow, with lots of delays, but I made it to my car by 11:00 and home around 11:45. Steve had left with the girls so I was able to shower and relax before they got home!
An absolutely wonderful race!

Sunday, March 4, 2012

It's official!

I always thought people were crazy for exercising on vacation.... Well, I am now one of the crazy people. We were planning a weekend away to atlantic city and I knew I wanted to run the boardwalk. I packed all my stuff and was prepared to go. But then Friday night it was pouring and so windy! Saturday morning I got up and it was cloudy but the boards had begun to dry so I decided to head out. After taking a week off I was planning on a 9 mile run, but about 3 miles in it started to pour AGAIN. But rain makes you run faster! I managed at 4.37 mile run, not quite where I wanted to be, but more than doing nothing.

Now that I had a weekend totally off, and a week with very little runing, I am ready to hit everything fall force. Diet & training!!!!!!!!

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Running partners...

I have always been nervous to run with someone. Afraid that I will slow them down, afraid that they will think I am foolish, afraid of what I will look like.... the list could go on and on. Throughout my running "career" I have found inspiration from friends, mainly on facebook. High school friends that run, relatives, strangers, whoever..... This weekend I decided to change my run to Saturday. There had been talk of snow coming on Sunday and I really didn't want to do 10 miles on the treadmill. And Saturday's forecast was beautiful!!!! I posted on FB that I was planning my run, and a HS friend said she would like to meet at some point. I got nervous and excited and we agreed to meet at a local pizza place. Sandra is a lifetime runner. And more importantly, one of the coaches (maybe the only) of track/cross country teams at Catonsville High School, the school we went to together. Simply put, she is awesome. Has two kids and looks FANTASTIC!!!!! We met up and started our loop around Arbutus. I wasn't sure how it was going to work, but I quickly discovered Sandra can talk while she runs! I found this amazing, cause I cannot. Lol. We talked.... well I take that back, she talked. I talked a little. My favorite thing.... Sandra said "I am a spitter" I said "Don't spit on me" She warned me to stay on her right. Ahhhhh..... We ran roughly four miles together. As we parted I missed her! I put my ear buds back in, but man she was such a motivator! I slowed down significantly and even walked a little. But in the end, I ran 10 miles in 1:43:52 and I learned a big lesson. Running with a partner rocks!!!! I hope to catch up with Sandra on future runs, and will soak up all her coaching!!!!!

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Poor Choices.....

Ugh. Tonight I could barely run on the treadmill. I was so slow, and felt like I was going to throw up at any time. I know why though. My food choices have been AWFUL! I have been eating out alot again, and eating out more and more and more. And not drinking all the water I used to. Drinking regular soda. Eating snacks at night. Ugh. Oh, and don't even get me started on the candy I have eaten. Ugh.

So, I am going to write some simple rules for me to follow.

1. Breakfast = Protein drink
2. 1 Salad a day.
3.Dinner = Protein and Veggie. No starch.
4. Snacks in between. Fruit/nuts/protein.
5. NO EATING AFTER 7PM.
6. Water. Water. Water. Stop the soda.
7. Bring lunch to work 4 days a week.

Friday - Eat dinner out.
Saturday - Carb load day.
Sunday - Long run day.

Come on Mary. You've worked hard at this. You deserve to treat yourself better!

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Updates

This past Sunday I did the Penguin Pace 5k, which was a great run. The beginning was downhill, and even though I had never run the race, I quickly figured out we would be going back up the hill in the last mile! I still had a PR despite the hills, and finished in 28:29. I am not sure when my next 5k will be, but I am hoping the next one will be under 28.

I have been adding more races to my schedule for 2012. I am excited about many of them!!!!! Heres what it looks like so far....

Feb 5, Penguin Pace (completed)
April 1, Cherry Blossom 10 miler (so excited about this one!)
April 29, Iron Girl Half
May 6, Frederick Half
June 16, Baltimore 10 miler
July 4, Arbutus firecracker 10k
August, Falls road full moon run
September 22, Color run w/family
October 13, Baltimore Marathon Woot woot!
November, Zoo zoom 8k
November, CHS Turkey Trot 5k
December 15, Celtic Solstice 5 miler

Possibly some other's to come!!!!!!

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Even when there is no motivation.... RUN!

Today is a run day. More importantly, a treadmill run day. I got ready and left for the gym, picked up a prescription for Zoey (damn sinus infections), and headed to the gym. Walking up to the door. I don't want to do this. Ugh. Took my time in the bathroom. Ok, get on my favorite treadmill (ha ha, favorite). I don't want to do this. Start my warm up. Ugh, don't want to do this. Start a light jog, hit stop. I don't want to do this. GET YOUR ASS ON THAT TREADMILL AND RUN! Wait who said that? Get back on and start at 5.5 (10:54 mile). Ok. I can do this. I need to run two straight miles. At mile one instead of slowing down, I speed up. Gradually getting to 6.0. You are doing this. Mile 2, slow down for .1 mile to get a drink and recover. Ok, 2.1 miles. Lets see how far I can go. Ugh, those annoying ass kids running around the treadmills are really bothering me. Where are their parents? Mile 2.5. I can slow down now. NO! Keep going. Mile 3.1, slow down to get a drink. Ok. Goal was 4 miles. I have walked for .2. Come on, get to 4.2. Speed it up. 3.7 miles, increase pace at each .1 of a mile. Mile 4.2. Done! I did it! Planning my 9 mile run for Sunday!

Next Sunday I have a 5k and I am hoping for a PR. I ran a 28:35 on Tuesday at home, so I should be able to do it!

Sunday, January 22, 2012

New milestones, new understandings, new plans!

First, today I hit another milestone. I ran 8 miles this morning. After runs on the treadmill Tues & Thurs I was itching to get outside. Even though it was only 28 degrees out I made arrangements for my mom to watch the girls and hit the road. We also had a snow/ice storm that made the roads a little more difficult to navigate, but I was determined. Since I was at my mom's it was new territory, and I enjoyed the change of scenery. The first mile is always my toughest. I guess because my body is warming up. After mile 2-3 I was feeling great. I also ran a loop around my college which has a killer hill. I had to walk for a few seconds, but I started running again and was very happy with my end time. I also started using GU Chomps, and I think they help.

New understandings. I have previously told people that I hate the treadmill. With a passion. I hated it because I seemed so slow. And when I tried to push up the speed I would feel like I am dying. Well this week I did my weekday runs on the treadmill. Mainly because it was so cold out and I was feeling a little under the weather already. Well during the runs it suddenly came to me why exactly I hate the treadmill. I causes me to be consistent. When I am runing outside my pace is not constant. It's something that I am working on, but it's much easier to slow down without knowing it when I am outside. But on the treadmill I have to manually push a button to make myself go slower.

So that gets me to new plans. While the weather is cold I am going to be running on the treadmill during the week, focusing on my pace & consistency. I believe with this work I will be able to run longer distances and keep a steady pace.

Another new plan that I am very excited about, I registered for the Iron Girl Half Marathon on April 29! This is part of a special program, when I complete this one and the half marathon at FRF, on May 6th. I am awarded the special "titanium girl" medal! Pretty excited about that!

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Knowing your limitations!

Today I had a 5 mile run scheduled, but I just wasn't feeling it. First, it was 27 degrees out and I was already fighting a sore throat. Plus, my hips have been sore. So I decided to hit the gym and jump on the eliptical runner. I did 5 miles, then did a quick** mile (9:23) on the treadmill. Tomorrow I hope to do Yoga, and maybe that will open up my hips some!

Sunday, January 8, 2012

Weekend long run!

As you know, I didn't make any new years resolutions. I set goals. May 6th is the FRF, I am signed up for the half marathong. I am actually contemplating completing a challenge called the titanium girl, two half marathons within a week......

Anyways, today I did my longest run ever, 7 miles. And I felt awesome during it. My tuesday and Thursday runs are around my loop, for safety reasons, so they are very flat. Almost no elevation gain. So today I not only set out to complete my longest run, but to make sure I did hills. And boy did I!!!! Elevation gain was over 400 ft. And I didn't walk a single second!!! And, I felt AWESOME. I added 2 GU chomps to my run, which I am not sure if they "worked" but I did notice less of the "I'm dying" feeling.

Next weekend is a step back weekend, and it will also be in DE, so it will be pretty flat.

Now to contemplate the titanium girl......

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

23 degrees and I did what?

Ran 3.5 miles! And it felt awesome. Besides the wind when I came up on the turn in circle!

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Note to self. Charge your Garmin.

Ugh, so I have been taking a break this holiday season, so my last run was a week ago. Well I am getting ready to go for my first run of the year and my garmin is drained. Whoops. Hopefully it doesnt take too long to charge!!!!!